My wife and I are spending almost all of our free time helping a family member who is facing a major medical problem. Unfortunately, I’m not able to post as often as I had planned.

So I’m going to point you to a post on another blog and then ask that you come back here to comment.

A certain group of historians concerned with the interpretation of events at Civil War battlefields believe that the rest of us see that bloody awful conflict through rose-colored glasses. Civil War battle re-enactments turn the killing fields into a fun time.

For example, author Zac Cowsert in his post on the Emerging Civil War bog calls the above image of the Bloody Angle at the Battle of Spotsylvania Court House a “very romantic representation” of what was 22 hours of slaughter.

I don’t happen to agree with that view, though I understand it.

My great grandfather William B. Poore fought at the Bloody Angle with the 16th Mississippi Infantry Regiment. He was 16 years old at the time. I don’t see how he survived. In fact, it is a wonder to me that he and his two older brothers, Francis and John, survived the war at all.

Because I admire my great grandfather’s courage doesn’t mean I admire killing or war. From bloody battles I take away a new understanding of the human spirit. Men, knowing the horrors of war, are willing to face those horrors for a cause they believe in.

My Confederate ancestors fought for the wrong cause. But their courage continues to inspire us today to fight for the right cause. That cause is individual liberty and constitutional government.

Take a look at Cowset’s blog post and then be sure to return to Poore Boys In Gray to let me know what you think.

