I wanted to share this post from the Mississippians in the Confederate Army blog because I thought it presented a useful resource for researchers — Ralph Poore

Mississippians in the Confederate Army

Iuka EngravingHaving begun my career as an historian in the pre-internet era, it never ceases to amaze me how much information is now available through my trusty lap top computer. As more and more collections are put online, material that I might never have found is readily available – it truly is an amazing time we live in.

A good case in point are some photographs taken in Mississippi in 1865 that I found posted on the flickr account of the George Eastman House International Museum of Photography and Film. The museum is located in Rochester, New York, and as I am just discovering, they have a large collection of Civil War photographs among their holdings. I only found four images taken in Mississippi that they have posted online, but they are photos that I have never seen before.

Until I found the Eastman photograph collection, I thought that there were…

View original post 658 more words

